God and People

Luke 18:1-14

Confession…I’ve been reading this passage my whole life and I missed two important details in this passage.

He said: “In a certain town there was a judge who neither feared God nor cared what people thought.

1. This part of the story is about a man who neither feared God nor cared about what people thought.

To some who were confident of their own righteousness and looked down on everyone else, Jesus told this parable:

2. This part of the story is about people who saw no need for God and looked down on everyone else.

When I’ve read this passage I’ve focused on the widow who bravely pesters the first man for justice. I’ve also focused on the second portion and felt compassion for the man who is being judged by the righteous man with fancy prayers. But today, as I read through this passage, I realized I’ve been the woman who neither fears God nor cares what people thought. I’ve been the woman who sees no need for God to bring righteousness to my life and in the process cast a judgmental look on those who did not met my level of righteousness. Yes, this story is about the widow and the tax collector, but it’s also about us hard-hearted folks, who do not value God’s authority in our lives and find little value in people.

Lately, I’m learning that it’s about the people. God loves people. If I call myself His kid, I’ve got to love them too. If it wasn’t for someone showing me love, how would I have experienced it? It’s food for thought.

Until another confession…

Leave a Reply

