What I Feel vs What I Believe

 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God ~Philippians 4:6

Honestly, I’ve been guilty of living the exact opposite of this verse. If I were to speak my truth on this piece it would read more like this:

Be anxious about everything, and in every situation, with worrying, scheming, and grumbling, whine to everyone who will listen.

Really, it’s gotten bad. So bad that, I don’t even like to hear myself talk anymore. I realize God is trying to teach me something in this season, but I feel like this lesson is long and impossible to master. I feel like I don’t have the capacity to understand the lesson. I feel like quitting. I feel like I can’t do this. I feel like I don’t want to do this. And there is my problem. I am depending on how I feel to get through this lesson.

Here’s the thing I’m learning folks: When my feelings don’t match what I believe, then maybe it’s time to stop working from my feelings and start working from what I believe.

What I believe is that God doesn’t make mistakes. I believe that the Holy Spirit helps me in my weakness. I believe is that the Holy Spirit can help me even when I don’t know what kind of help I need. What I believe is that God is working all things for good of those who love Him. I KNOW I love Him. If I don’t know anything else, I know I love God and I want my life to be an evidence of what His love can do in one little person like me.

Until another confession…

Leave a Reply

