Chopsticks

I am a woman. I’m a creation of God. I am a woman who has children. I’m a woman who has a husband. I am a woman who has a mother and I am a woman who has sisters and brothers. I am woman who has a job. I am a woman who goes to school. I am a woman who enjoys cooking, crocheting, singing, and playing the piano. I am a woman who enjoys holding babies, talking to toddlers, laughing with elementary school kids and encouraging middle schoolers. High schoolers are a mystery to me but I’ll have to figure them out soon because I now have a high schooler.

Sometimes, I forget that I am a creation of God. In all those labels and all those facets of my person, I forget that I was created by Him and I forget I was created to bring Him glory. That is my sole purpose…to bring Him glory. Sometimes, I forget that I have no other job to do, but to let Him shine through me. I often try to find my identity in mothering, marriage, education, work, or ministry; but my identity is not in those things. Those things are ways in which I bring glory to God. Those things are the way in which He gets glory through me. They are not my identity they are His work through me.

I’ve spent a lot of time trying to figure out what my purpose is. Why am I here? What am I meant to do? And I’ve been missing the point. There is no one reason why I am here. I mean, there is one reason, but the one reason isn’t found in my activities. The one reason is accomplished as I do those activities.

As I mother, as I love my husband, as I serve my community, I reflect God’s glory. Trying to pick only way one in which to bring Him glory is like deciding I will only eat sushi for the rest of my life because of my superior chop stick skills (I am probably the only one who thinks I have superior chop stick skills).

So, rather than trying to figure out what I am “supposed” to be doing, I’m going to do my daily activities and aim to bring God glory in each and every one of those activities.

Until another confession…

Leave a Reply

