Fear Not

Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine.
When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you;  when you walk through fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you.

~Isaiah 43:1b-2

As I was going over this verse, I realized there was another perspective I’ve been missing. I read this passage when life is in the midst of chaos and crisis and find solace in its words. However, what if this passage is for everyday?

As people of faith, we choose to relinquish control of our lives to God. He calls and we respond out of our love and appreciation for His sacrifice on our part. Too often I forget that this is not an easy act. I surrender to God’s love for me daily and there are days I do it with ease and peace. However there are days when it is hard to just give it up.  Saying no to what I want feels like a deep cleaning only fire can accomplish. Trusting God with the details feels more like an act of swimming in a stormy ocean.

As we pursue God’s call on our lives we must remember to not fear because He is with us. He will walk us through the fires of purification as we relinquish our will to His. He is there as we tread water trying to decide whether we will trust Him or not. He reminds us that we will not be alone, we will not be consumed by the fire and we will not be drowned. That reminder is for everyday. The hard days and the easy days. He is there. Don’t give in to the fear. You’re not alone. I’m freaking out right along with you.

Until another confession…

Leave a Reply

