Where My Faith is Without Borders

Confession…I am not good at waiting. I’m not good at sitting still. I am not good at living with the unknown.

Right now, I am doing all three of these things. I am waiting to hear about what the future holes. I am sitting still, trying not to feel guilty about so many different things. There are many things I wish I knew the answers to, but I do not.

It’s important for me to learn during this season. In my mind, I know this. In my heart, I feel this to be true. And still, I fight it. Why is it that we do this? Why do we dream to do the impossible and then allow fear to take hold of our hearts? I know God has my future in His hands. I know that He sees all concerning me and my family and has designated roles for us in His great plan. I just wish He would let me in on the secret. But it is not time yet. As I wait, and sit still, and face the unknown, I can’t help but think of the lyrics to this song…

You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep
My faith will stand

And I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Your grace abounds in deepest waters
Your sovereign hand
Will be my guide
Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me
You’ve never failed and You won’t start now

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

**Oceans by Hillsong United

I do wish to be led to where my trust is without borders. Right now, my borders of faith are pretty clearly defined. It would seem that I will trust Him as long as I know what the future holds. It would seem that I will trust Him as long as He doesn’t call me to the uncomfortable. I am not okay with that kind of faith. So, I suppose, in order for me to learn to live with borderless faith, I must go through this time. <sigh> And my faith will be made stronger, in the presence of my Savior.

Until another confession…

 

Leave a Reply

