Change My Attitude?!

Confession…I am guilty of believing that if God would just change my circumstances then I could be a better Christian, wife, mother, person! I keep asking Him to take this away or move that out or change this or that…all the while believing that if I didn’t have to deal with those things then I would be truly happy and productive. Yeah, right.

I was reminded today that God expects me to change my attitude even if He doesn’t change my circumstances. It’s funny, because we preach this to our children almost daily.

I know you don’t want to go to school, but it is your life right now, so we will pray God changes your attitude so you can be the student He is calling you to.

I know you don’t want to do your chores, but it what I am asking of you now. I love you and will be praying God changes your attitude while you do your chores.

I realize you believe homework to be a tool of evil, but it is tool meant to develop your brain skills. I really think asking God to change your perspective on this one might help you to get the most out of this experience.

Why would I think my life would be any different?! Why do I think that asking God to give me a better anything would be what changes my attitude? What a silly human I am.

I work in a school, therefore, I think of years in school terms. That being said, I believe God really is trying to teach me something this year and I have been stubborn to learn. I keep asking Him to move this out or move this in. I keep pleading with Him to change this detail or that detail. I keep asking him to give me this or that. In essence, I’ve been asking Him change my circumstances so I can change my attitude. Sometimes, I hear Him chuckle at me. If I could hear God speak, I think these are things He would say.

I know you don’t want to go to work, but it is what I am asking of you right now.  So, let me help you change your attitude so you can be the employee I am calling you be.

OR

I know you don’t want to get up clean your house, but it needs to be done. I love you and I can help you change your attitude while you clean.

OR

I realize you believe challenging yourself to grow is a tool of evil, but I will use it as a tool to develop your character. I really think I can help you to change your perspective on this one so you get the most out of this uncomfortable experience.

In other words, I am not going to change your circumstances, but I will help you to change your attitude and your heart desires.  Why do I so easily forget, that I don’t have to do these things alone? Why do I so easily forget that I don’t have to do this in my own strength? God has promised to help. He has promised never to leave me or forsake me. He has promised to take my hard heart and replace it with a new heart. He’s always kept His promises to me. ALWAYS! I suppose I should practice what I preach to my kids.

Until another confession…

Leave a Reply

