Where Do I Find My Identity?

For you have delivered my soul from death, yes, my feet from falling, that I may walk before God in the light of life. ~Psalms 56:13

Confession…I do not have a father. I do not know what it means to have a father daughter relationship. My experience has been incredibly negative and filled with sin and pain. Now, I tell you this not to elicit sympathy or pity, but I do tell you this to demonstrate the awesome power of God.

This week at Revolution, Pastorman began a series geared towards men called Fight. Here’s a summary.

We will use the life of Samson to see the battles that men fight with their past, their present and their future. We’ll look at what plagues men and keeps them from becoming the man God created them to be, what men who win those battles do that other men don’t, how a wife can help her husband become the man God created him to be, how to help your daughter find a man worth having, how a single woman can find that man and how to raise sons who become the men who win the battles that matter most. (Taken from the Revolution website)

The first sermon was titled In Search of A Hero. It was good. Check it out. At the end Pastorman mentioned how fathers would bless their children and speak over them regarding their future and identity. He proposed that we have this sort of conversations with our own fathers. Now, I am incredibly committed to living free of the pain associated with my childhood. My husband and I have made great strides  towards allowing God to heal my heart. However, something about that idea broke me. It was in that moment I realized, I had no father to bless me. I had no father to speak over my life. The father I did have spoke to me about my identity and I realized, in that moment, that I have lived my life trying to shake free of that identity. I began to weep and I could not stop. Even now, my heart is tender at the thought of it. I don’t want to be the things that were spoken over me. I don’t want the identity my “father” gave me. I am made for more than what he made me to feel I was made for.

God is so loving. He is so faithful. His love endures forever. This morning my quiet time reading led to Psalms 56:13. I have been delivered from death, yes, my feet from falling, that I may walk before God in the light of life. My identity is found in God. My identity is one meant for life and freedom. I am not bound to the identity given to me by my past, I am freed to find my identity in God. FREE!

I don’t know what your story is, but I do know that you are not chained to your past. You can find freedom. Your future is not decided by your past. Your future is decided by a good and loving God.

Until another confession…

 

Leave a Reply

