Broken Heart

Confession…something has been happening in my heart over the last two years. My heart is being broken for children.

Two years ago I reentered the work force, by taking a job as an assistant preschool teacher. I was just looking for something to do for a few hours during my day and that seemed to be a good investment of my time. Six months later, I took a job in the middle school which my children attend. What happened next, was not in my plans.

My primary job is mother. I love being a mother and it is something I take seriously. I am learning to be passionate about my role as a mother and love watching my children grow in character and faith.  Unfortunately, as I spend more time with kids I realize, not everyone values their parenting job in quite the same way. I could speculate on the reasons why, however, that won’t change the fact that our children are greatly undervalued in our society. I’ve known this for a while. I’ve seen it play out in the lives of children I know. And it’s always bothered me, but lately it breaks my heart. It moves me to tears. It ignites a fire in my heart that I cannot quench. I’m not quite sure how this will play out in our future, but I know that God is doing something in my heart and it’s a little overwhelming.

Until another confession…

 

 

Leave a Reply

