Finding Peace

Confession…I cannot find peace this week. I am looking and I cannot find it. I am working and I cannot find it. I am cleaning and I cannot find it. It was around here somewhere. I just don’t know where it went. I lost my peace.

I began reading Colossians this morning and a verse struck me like that corner of the cabinet that catches you when you least expect it.

Grace to you and peace from God our Father.

I didn’t misplace peace. I didn’t lose it. I haven’t asked God for it. I haven’t gone to Him to get it. He’s offering it. He is the originator of it. Wouldn’t it make sense that I would find peace with Him?

I know I am guilty of trying to earn my faith, salvation, peace…you name it, I’m trying to earn it. I like to be the one in the seat of power in my heart. I like to be the one making good things happen. I like to be the one who pulls off the impossible. I’m not very good at operating under this pressure. As a matter of fact, I am horrible at it. When I begin to operate in my own power, I realize I need some outside intervention. I need God. I’m sure if God could post on the “wall” of my heart it would sometimes read…”smh” (shaking my head).

I’m glad He loves me. I’m glad He never leaves me. I’m glad He gets me. It makes it that much easier to run to Him when I look up and realize I’m starting to wander. There’s a song “Come Thou Fount” and in that song there is a verse that makes my heart smile every time I hear it.

Ode to grace, how great a debtor
Daily I’m constrained to be
And let Thy goodness like a fetter
Bind my wandering heart to Thee

Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it
Prone to leave the God I love
Here’s my heart, Lord, take and seal it
Seal it for Thy courts above

I am so prone to wander, but I know He will bind my heart to Him and I will find His peace in His arms.

Until another confession…

Leave a Reply

