Put On The Lord Jesus Christ

Confession…it was easier to be a Christian when I didn’t have to work outside of the home. It was easier to watch the words I say. It was easier to mask the contents of my heart. It was easier to pretend I was not wrestling with God’s call to “make no provision for the flesh”.

I am finishing up my readings in Romans and I came across this little nugget of a verse in chapter 13.

But put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to gratify its desires. ~Romans 13:14

I’m not going to lie, I want to find a deeper meaning for this. I want to fully understand exactly what it means to put on the Lord Jesus Christ. I want to fully understand the word meanings and how I can better live this out. It is hard to put on the Lord Jesus Christ when I come across people daily who do not love Jesus and do not put Him at the center of their lives. It is easy to forget, when I watch people make so many provisions for their flesh, that I have decided to refrain from indulging in my fleshly desires. I have decided to put on the Lord Jesus Christ.

You see, when I stayed home, I spent my time with little people who indulged in their fleshly desires all the time. However, I rationalized that they were young and needed me to instruct them to put Jesus at the center of their lives. That’ easy. I see sin at home, I point it out. I gospel it. I allow the Spirit to do His work.

I am not always at liberty to do that out in the world. I cannot tell the lady who is yelling at her husband in front of everyone that this is inappropriate behavior and we must learn to control our words. I cannot send the woman to her room and ask her to pray and come out when she has allowed God to speak to her heart. I cannot call her to repentance or point our her sin without risking a major confrontation. Although, sometimes, I am tempted to do things like this just to see if I could get away with it.

No, I am really wrestling with how to put on Jesus in the workplace and refrain from indulging in my fleshly desires. I imagine it has something to do with the fruit of the spirit and putting on the armor of God. I am absolutely positive it has something to do with self control. But the more I am out here in the workplace, I am realizing that Romans 13:8 is going to need to be a big part of being successful with verse 14.

Owe no one anything, except to love each other, for the one who loves another has fulfilled the law.

God’s love. That is the only way I am going to be able to get anywhere close to being successful with this. I am going to have to put on God’s love.

Until another confession…

Leave a Reply

