New Year’s Resolutions

Confession…I love the New Year and I love making New Year’s resolutions. It is a time to change something for the better.

I’m sure everyone has their own opinions of resolutions and I totally get that. However, I am me and I like resolutions.  Maybe I should break down what I see as a resolution and that will help us to be on the same page.

The first thing you need to know is that I am a word person. I love words and I love their meanings. I love the study of words. I love learning new words. I have a dictionary and a thesaurus and I use them. Words are so important to me that I made my kids learn how to use the hard cover copies of our dictionary and  thesaurus before I allowed them to use the online versions. I love etymology. With that in mind, we must look at the word resolution.

Resolution is defined in Webster’s dictionary as this:  the act of finding an answer or solution to a conflict, problem, etc. : the act of resolving something, : an answer or solution to something

The word resolution is the noun format of the verb resolve which means: to find an answer or solution to (something) : to settle or solve (something) : to make a definite and serious decision to do something. 

When I think of resolutions, I think of these words. There are areas, in my life, with which I am not quite satisfied. There are things in my life that should change. Some of my behaviors and my habits have become a problem and are in need of a solution.  As a responsible adult, I should resolve those things. I should make a definite and serious decision to do something about the behaviors and habits that make me feel discontented. And so, I make resolutions.

They vary from year to year. I usually have a spiritual resolution and a physical resolution. Last year spiritually, I wanted to learn more about prayer. I asked God to help me with this, and boy did He help. I was challenged with so many wonderful situations in which to pray. Gees! Physically, my resolution was to learn how to eat without beef, pork, or soy. My body no longer wishes to process those foods and so I needed to find a meal plan that could accommodate those wishes. Stupid body! I was able to find a meal plan that works and was able to stick with it.

This year I am looking forward to my new resolutions. My goals is to schedule my time better, so that I can do those things that are important to me. I know that God has asked me to be a better steward of my time and I want to be obedient. I am making a definite and serious decision to align myself with God’s Will for my life…one resolution at a time.

Until the next confession…

 

Leave a Reply

