Bad Attitudes

Confession…I had a bad attitude yesterday and I did not want to be saved from it. It has been a while that I’ve had an attitude so bent on negativity and sin. It was awful.

My reading has me in Romans these days and I am in a portion that is intense. Romans 7 has me mining for meaning and truth and questioning God for insight.  Paul is talking about sin and the law. He shares that the law was necessary to expose sin. If there had not been the law, he would not have known he was a sinner. He talks of sin being a part of him that he cannot get rid off, a sickness that lives in him.

For I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate.

I know what’s coming next, I know he’s going to get to the part where Jesus is the answer. I just wish he would hurry up. I don’t want to have sin in me. I don’t want to have this sickness. I want to be free of it permanently. I think I often get caught in the right now and the feeling of the moment and I forget there is an answer. There is a solution. I behave as thought that solution is within me and I forget that it doesn’t naturally occur in me. It isn’t anything I can do. It is God’s love for me.  It’s the promises He’s given to me about my future and the hope I have in Him.  He is all I need. I must trust Him. I must cling to the promises that He has given to continue working in me. I must hold tight to the promise that He won’t leave me unfinished.

I’ve got to be honest. I don’t know what today holds. I already know I’ve got yesterdays junk waiting for me. I know God is all I need and I will hold on to the promise He gives.

Until another confession…

Leave a Reply

