Ain’t Nobody Got Time For That!

Confession…I make time for the things I want to do and I don’t make time for the things that I don’t want to do. I live too often at the beck and call of the urgent and leave no time for the things that are important. I find myself saying too often that I don’t have enough time to do this or that, but the truth is, when it comes to my time, I choose poorly most days.

I started this week with a day off and usually I blog on my days off because I have more time. I love to process through the things that go on in my heart and mind with writing. I enjoy blogging because it reminds me that I am not alone in this journey of faith I have chosen. I open myself up because I am so prone to privacy and secrecy. I am prone to putting on a brave face and pretending I am okay on my own, when in reality I am in need of community and connection.

This week I purposed to blog every day. This means I have to wake up a little earlier to get it done. If I say I love to write then I need to make time for it in my day. In the wee hours of the morning, when the house is silent, is the time of day for this chick. It’s been a good week. I have enjoyed the time of quiet in the morning reading through God’s promises and clinging to Him with hope. I have loved reviving the part of me I often silence and move to the corner. I’ve completely enjoyed the change.

It led me to this one realization. I make too much time for things that don’t make me a better person. I make too much time for things that don’t refine me or challenge me in faith.  It’s a choice. I need to stop claiming that I don’t have time for this or that. I just need to choose more wisely. Choosing poorly is truly the thing for which I do not have time. It’s a waste of time that is precious to us all and wasting time…as sweet Brown claims…Ain’t nobody got time for that!

Until another confession…

 

Leave a Reply

