It’s All In The Presentation

Let not sin therefore reign in your mortal body, to make you obey its passions. Do not present your members to sin as instruments for unrighteousness, but present yourselves to God as those who have been brought from death to life, and your members to God as instruments for righteousness. For sin will have no dominion over you, since you are not under law but under grace. ~Romans 6:12-14

Confession…too often I present myself to sin. I remember reading the conversation between Cain (you know Cain…and his brother Abel) and God a while back. God warns Cain,

“If you do what is right, will you not be accepted? But if you do not do what is right, sin is crouching at your door; it desires to have you, but you must master it.” ~Genesis 4:7

I remember thinking, “Wow God! That’s a lot of pressure.” God warns Cain and Cain, the stubborn kid that he was, ignored God. Sin won. He was cursed. He lived a crazy life.

As I read through that passage in Romans today my heart was overwhelmed with peace and joy knowing that sin does crouch at my door, waiting to have it’s way with me and I am not obligated to let it have the last word. I can choose to present myself to sin, or I can choose to present myself to God. I can behave as one who has been brought from death to life. I can present myself to God to be used as an instrument of righteousness.

God beckons to us to beware of sin and then provides Jesus death on the cross as a way of escape. I do not have to master sin alone. I do not need to live as one who is governed by sin with no one to step in and help. However,  I do need to make a choice. I can choose to present myself to sin or I can choose to present myself to God.

God, who loves us dearly, help us to choose wisely. I choose to present myself to You today.  What about you?

Until another confession…

Leave a Reply

