Obedience In the Face of Fear

Luke 1:38 And Mary said, “Behold, I am the servant of the Lord;let it be to me according to your word.”

And the angel departed from her.

Confession…I wish I was this obedient. Mary is given shocking news that is sure to completely complicate her life and she responds with obedience. As a result, God launches a work that will change the world forever.

I don’t obediently respond to those things that God asks me to do. I fear. I question. I doubt God’s ability to move on my behalf. I fear,  and as a result, lives around me sometimes go untouched. My heart goes untouched. I allow fear to keep me from obedience.  I am much more like Zachariah who, in the same story, learns he will become a father after years of waiting for a son.  Zachariah receives amazing news of a promised child finally being given and he responds with doubt and questions. The attitude between the two is completely different. Mary is willing to obey and wonders how it will happen. Zachariah is willing to comply but doubts God’s ability to act on his behalf.

Obedience in the face of fear…moving forward in faith…these are things I wrestle with daily. I am so thankful that God promises peace. I am so thankful that despite the complications and troubles of this world, God promises to be with me. I can move forward even though I am afraid because I am not alone.

Until another confession…

Leave a Reply

