More Growing Pains…for Mommy…err I mean Mom

Confession…I really don’t have much to blog about, I am just killing time here. Gasp…I know you can’t believe it either. Let me explain…my kids are reaching that age when they find the strangest things entertaining. My tendency is to look at them strangely and walk away. But I have been wondering if I am missing some key moments in their day by doing this. So, I am blogging in an attempt to look busy but all the while I am here watching them and they don’t even know it.

Right now, they both have access to their iPods and they are using said iPods to entertain themselves. Noises are being made that make any person, who is amused by bodily functions, giggle with child like glee. I am seeing pictures made on face goo that are more random than this short chick playing basketball with the Harlem Globetrotters in Paraguay for a prize of chimpanzees. I would normally find something else to do, but I find that this might be just the kind of interaction that will lead to conversations.

I guess I could be wrong, but as I sit here, looking preoccupied to their eyes, I find I have gained access into their worlds much like a zoogist studying wild creatures. They are intelligent and wonderful creations of God. What I mean is, I get to see what makes them laugh. I get to see how they interact with each other. They’re funny. They’re creative. They’re curious. It’s really cool! Hold on, I need to pose for a picture for face goo…

I thought we’d lose interest in each other as they grew older, but I find that if I stay engaged, they let me stay nearby. Granted, my involvement HAS TO CHANGE and that’s the hard part. There are some terms that I must agree to in order to gain access to their worlds. I can’t dance in public for their friends anymore, it just isn’t as cool as it used to be. I do it sometimes anyway, but if I choose to do this, I must allow them to give me disapproving looks. I can’t try to sing their way cool songs at the top of my lungs when there friends are in the car. I do it sometimes anyway, but I have to let them say stuff like “Thank you Mom, you can be done now”. OR I have to sing and dance horribly so that they know I am trying to embarrass them so they can roll their eyes. I find that if i am willing to accept the new conditions they allow me access into their world. It’s a small price to pay. And H-E-double hockey sticks if they aren’t worth it.

Until another confession…

Leave a Reply

