By God’s will

Confession…I give myself way too much credit sometimes. If something great happens, you better believe my desire will be to spin it so I get the credit. I don’t like this about myself and I am praying that God continues to change the desires of my heart. However, I still get caught by it every once in a while.

I started reading Ephesians today, and right away Paul hits me where I live.

Paul, an apostle of Christ Jesus by the will of God.

Ephesians 1:1

By the will of God…Paul is an apostle of Christ Jesus, by the will of God. There is nothing he has done to earn the title of apostle. Heck, he didn’t even have any choice in his name. If you remember correctly, he was Saul and God changed that too! Immediately the truth (which I have head-known for some time, but today now heart-know) lights up inside of me me and I am aware that anything I am, anything I do, anything I accomplish is by the will of God. I am in Christ, and as such I am living my life by the will of God.

I am humbled by the thought. I am amused at myself for believing that I am anything other than His kid. Don’t get me wrong, there is great value in that, more value than any other identity I could cling to. And yet, how easily I sometimes trade that identity for one of lesser value. I belong to God. I give myself to Him freely. I choose to live by God’s will. My prayer is that I find great peace, joy, and satisfaction in that truth. My prayer is also, that you find great peace, joy, and satisfaction in that truth as well.

Until the next confession…

Leave a Reply

