Seasons

Confession…while I am excited to start this new season, it is a bittersweet excitement.

The last two years we have had a crazy schedule, for us. Some of you have crazier schedules and I am sure what we have done is nothing compared to others, but for us, it was hard. The first year, John traveled from Wednesday to Friday. He would work in town when he was home, but fly out late Tuesday or early Wednesday and return home late Friday night. The last 8 months we have had John in town,however he has been working two jobs. One in the morning and one in the evening. Much of our family time was spent during the evening hours and as we sent John to work in the evening, we had to adjust what family time looked like. It’s been hard, but it has been so worthwhile. We’ve had to change when family devotions happen. We’ve had to capitalize on Voxer, Skype, and text messages to maintain bedtime routines and Daddy’s prayers. We’ve had to be uber organized and micromanage our time to make the most of every moment we had Daddy home. We’ve had to do moments without Daddy. Date night for us has turned into costco dates, errand dates, and any excuse we can find to get out of the house together just to connect. It’s been hard, but it has been such a learning and growing time for us all.

It would be easy to say that I am looking forward to having my best friend home at night to help, but honestly, I am looking forward to my friend having some down time with his family. I am looking forward to him being able to take a break, to sit down, relax, watch a movie with the family. I am so excited that he will FINALLY get a day off. He works so very hard on our behalf.  He’s a good man. He would never want me to go on and on about him this way, but I think it is important that I say this last thing about him. I’ve learned so much about the heart of God from my husband. My man has sacrificed so much on our behalf. He has given so much of himself in order to provide for us. Jesus did the same thing for us only He sacrificed to the point of death. God gives so that we might live a life free of the things that try to weigh us down. What a great reflection of the heart of God! I am honored to be his wife and I am thankful that God has given us to each other.

Until another confession…

Leave a Reply

