Is It More Important To Be Perfect or To Be Loved?

Confession…life is busy, being a grown up is hard, and I still love God.

The holiday season is underway. I’ve broken out the Christmas music. I am decorating the areas around me that aren’t packed with boxes. We’re moving, did I forget to mention that. After 11 years in this old Aldaco house we’re relocating. We are nostalgic but we are not sad. We really feel a peace about this upcoming season of our lives. It’s really quite exciting. But that isn’t what this post is about.

This time of year always sparks reflection for me. What did I do this year? How did I grow? What have I learned? Who have I helped? I tend to focus on how I performed the past year so that I can make adjustments and improvements for the next year. Honestly, this year’s reflection have nothing to do with my accomplishments or my conquests. This year I find I am reflecting on those I love and how important they are in my life. This year has been a hard one. We did a lot of firsts without Dad this year. He’s the first parent (I know he was an in-law but he was the Dad I have had for 18 years) to whom we have had to say goodbye. My sweet hubby and I have both started new jobs. Both of my kids are now in middle school. This year was the first year I really felt like I didn’t know what I was doing and had no clue how I was going to get to the next phase of life. It’s humbling.

My community has played a huge part in my life this year. I don’t know if I would have kept my focus on God without them. The faith community God has placed me in has been a huge help in teaching me to ask for help, to be vulnerable, to not know the answers, to let people know the real me, and to be loved imperfections and all. It’s a good thing to be loved. I ask my kids lately, what’s more important to be perfect or to be loved? Perfection, by the worlds standards, means you need nothing. You can do it all alone. Where is the fun in that? Being loved, as God calls us to love one another, means you don’t have to do it all alone. You don’t have to know all the answers. AND you have people around you who know you and stick around anyway. Community is a blessing, a gift from God. Thank you God for such a wonderful gift.

Until another confession…

One response to “Is It More Important To Be Perfect or To Be Loved?

Leave a Reply

