Changing Lifestyle…

Image

Confession…I’ve started a new lifestyle and it is hard. Granted I’m only two days in but already I want to go back to my old lifestyle…or do I?

I’ve been trying to lose weight for what seems like years. I’ve been parked at the same weight for at least two years now and I’m so sick of maintaining this body.  I researched a particular “diet” and have decided it is one I can do long term, because let’s be honest, it has to be long term. I’ve been at my goal and I’ve been at this weight and at my goal and…you get the idea. I’ve had a minor scare with cancer, I’ve been staving on diabetes, my thyroid is malfunctioning, high blood pressure is a commonality in my family and that’s just the family I know! I don’t even know what I carry on my father’s side. So getting skinny is no longer a goal for me…being healthy so I can be a wise steward of the body God has given me is the true goal.

The trouble is, eating isn’t just a way of obtaining nutrition for me, it’s a security blanket I’ve held on to for way too many years. I always joke that I hate the first week of “dieting” because I am as mean as a snake with a button on it’s tail. Not many people may not understand what I mean, but for those of you who do, you get that changing my eating habit has to be more than a diet, it has to be a lifestyle change.

My new lifestyle has me thinking about what I’m going to eat before I eat. I’m planning my meals and preparing them in advance so I can get to it easily. It has me thinking so much about food, however it’s in a different way. Let’s be honest I was always thinking about food before, I was thinking of how it was going to make me feel better or how it would comfort me. Now I’m thinking how I can get the most nutritional value for my meal. It’s hard. It’s tiring. It’s frustrating at times. But really it is discipline and I hate that “D” word too.

There’s no moral to this story…but this is the continuation of a story I’ve been writing for quite some time. So maybe, I’ll get there.

Until the next confession…

by the way…here are some links to a blog that the PastorMan did. He has some fantastic opinions on the topic.  Check it out!

PastorMan’s story

PastorMan’s weight loss journey blog series

One response to “Changing Lifestyle…

  1. Pingback: Feeling….Eating….savior? « Confessions of a Regenerated Heart

Leave a Reply

