Beauty is in the Eye of the Beholder

Confession…I have struggled to find beauty in the world lately. That sounds awful to actually see in print.

Don’t get me wrong, Beauty surrounds me and I know this. My husband, my children, my community…they are beautiful. There’s no doubt about it. I am struggling to see beauty in this world. I’ve been encountering ugliness in life and it’s taking its toll on my heart. I struggle to keep the search going, but I’m getting weary of seeing the reality of this world. I wanted to take pictures each day of the beauty I see and I’m really struggling to see beauty in this world. I see so much hurt and pain. I see so many who need love and hope. I see so many who give no thought to others and their impact on the world around them. I get incredibly arrogant in these moments. I believe I have the answer and if the world could behave as I do then this world would be a perfect place. But let’s be honest, I am one of those people. Sigh.

We need Jesus folks. We need Him. His love is the only thing that has any real power to change us for the better. Why do we fight it so hard? Why do we underestimate it’s impact on our hearts and lives? It’s a big, beautiful thing. It’s alive and it is real.

These moments have come and gone before in my life and God always sees me through each and every one. Sometimes it takes me longer to respond to Him, sometimes it’s much quicker. So, finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. ~Phillippians 4-8 I will think about such things.

Until another confession…

Leave a Reply

