I Love You More Today Than Yesterday…But Not As Much As Tomorrow

Confession…I love my husband more today than I did 16 years ago when we stood at the altar.

God has given me a gift of a man. He has been a great example of God’s love for me. He isn’t perfect, he’s human, he makes mistakes, but he loves me and that hasn’t changed in 16 years. The love he has for me has driven him to listen to Latin based music. It’s driven him to learn to salsa dance, even though he really didn’t want to. He’s watched movies I’m sure he could have lived forever without seeing. He’s helped me with crafting projects I’ve gotten behind on. He helps me color my hair. He would wake up in the middle of the night with the kids just so I could get a few more minutes of sleep. He’s held me as I cried. He’s challenged me as I throw fits. He’s defended me when others start to attack me, even though he knows I can defend myself. He treats me like I’m worth dying for. It’s a great love.

Ephesians 5:25 challenges husbands in this way:

Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her,

My husband has been in constant pursuit of this challenge.  It amazed me sometimes how much he’s grown in the past 16 years. We joke about who loves who more, but I really do believe sometimes that his love is better than mine. Ephesians 5:22 also challenges wives in this manner:

Wives, submit to your own husbands, as to the Lord.

The interesting thing is that I wasn’t always a wife who wanted to submit to my husband or to my Lord. I wanted to be my own authority. I knew it was sin, but the hurts of my past and the sin in my heart kept me stubborn and proud.  And yet, 16 years later, here I am. Loving my husband and reveling in the submission to his leadership in our home.  It wasn’t his badgering or his threatening that got me to submit. It was  his love. His love for me even though I drove him up a freaking wall some days continued to grow despite my rebellious heart. What an amazing picture of the even greater love God has for me! My husband’s love for me is good but God’s love for me is perfect! I’m so unworthy of God’s love. But, boy, I sure am glad I get to indulge in it. And I’m pretty tickled about the husband He gave me to love on as well. I can’t wait to see what our love is like in 16 more years. It’s gonna be AMAZING!

Until another confession…

One response to “I Love You More Today Than Yesterday…But Not As Much As Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

