What Promise are You Believing?

Confession for the week: I have been struggling with this concept of faith. I have always struggled with the concept of faith.  I know I’m not alone in this struggle. I’ve listened to many of you talk of failing faith, floundering faith, faith that just doesn’t seem to work.  So it seems fitting that the Give Me Faith series at Revolution would be a challenge to MY traditional opinions of faith.

I realize that faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen (Hebrews 11:1).  But what is the thing hoped for?  What is the thing that is not seen? Yes, it is God but I wonder if it is even more specific than that.   As I read through Hebrews 11, I see a parade of folks who held onto a promise and had incredible faith. Noah believed a flood was coming; Abraham believed in a promised land and descendants to fill that land; Sarah, after laughing at God, believed she would give Abraham that child; Abraham believed God would intervene somehow when sacrificing Isaac; Moses believed God would use him to lead the Israelites to the promised land. I could go on and on, but my point is they had faith.  But I have to wonder if their faith was clear because they knew what they were promised and weren’t going to let go until they saw those promises fulfilled.  I suppose I struggle over the promises.  I believe I am unclear about what God has promised me?  There are so many promises in God’s Word…which ones are for me?  Now before you tell me they are all for me I want you to think first.  Which ones are the ones God is promising me and you specifically?  SIDEBAR: Don’t do the cliche Christian thing and tell me they are all for us and we should start claiming them all.  There are too many TV speakers who are telling me that all I have to do is believe and my life will be filled with money and conflict resolution and an easy life.  That isn’t biblical.  As a favorite speaker of mine says, You can’t claim to believe in a guy who was rejected by his family and village, was betrayed by one of his closes friends, was in essence poor, homeless, and eventually beaten and executed for his claims and then expect to live a life of ease and comfort.  I’m asking you and me to be a little more specific and take the effort to find out what God is saying about your life and my life.

I’ve embraced that God will never leave or forsake me (Genesis 28:15; Deuteronomy 31:6,8; Joshua 1:5). I also embrace that God’s grace is sufficient for me.  (2 Corinthians 12:9).  God won’t leave us alone.  He’s right here with us.  He’ll stick with us even though life is hard.  And God will be enough to get us through this period of our lives, but through to what?  What is the purpose? What will we get through to?  I don’t know.  I believe that is why I am struggling with my faith.  I don’t know what I’m believing for.  I’ve been in survival mode and just trying to get through.  Maybe what I need to do is get out of survival mode and start believing what God has promised me.  I need to find out what God has promised me.  That would probably be a great place to start.

Until another confession…

Leave a Reply

