The Idols of MY Heart

As we Revolutionaries go through the book of James with the Pastor Man, we’re being challenged on way too many things for my liking.  Am I wrong? No, I’m not.  Our current series is called “Give Me Faith“.  The talks are titles as follows, Storms of Life, Doubt, Pursuits, and Fighting Temptations. Yes, one right after the other.  WOW! It’s been a heavy series for sure.  I suppose I shouldn’t complain too much, as I’m gaining some valuable truth from these talks.  It is practical and relevant truth that will serve to make me a better person…so I will count it pure joy to learn these truths.  If you’re interested in hearing the talks click on the link above and it will take you to the pages.  But seeing as how this is supposed to be confession time, I should get on with it.

Confession, my idols are as follows comfort, approval, control, and power.  Some would have chosen one, but I know they all play a part in my twisted phyche so I’m confessing to them all.  I gave them to you in the order of importance because  as looked at the different “Idols of the Heart” the pastor man references in the talks recently, I realize I value comfort.  Blah! My comfort zone is my most valued possession.  I have sacrificed much to maintain it.  I have given up friendships, people I love, opportunities, just to stay in my comfort zone.  How embarrassing to admit this truth! It plays right into my idol for approval.  Even as I confess my idol I immediately feel the urge to delete for fear of what you will think of me.  Which goes right in to my need to control because I want to control what you think of me. I want to control my image and the way I portray myself.  THEN I will have the power to make you love me…there’s a little more of the acceptance drama playing there.  SHEESH! No wonder I’m tired all of the time.  I’m busy running around trying to maintain my idols and in the famous words of Janet, Miss Jackson if you’re nasty, (sorry I got sidetracked) WHAT HAVE YOU DONE FOR ME LATELY! My idols do nothing for me, but wear me out! I would be better served by following Jesus’ advice in Matthew 11:28 – 30

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

The point that sticks with me most from Saturday nights talk is this: We plan our steps into sin.  We must plan our steps our of sin.  What is sin you might be asking?  Sin is simply this: You separating yourself from God. You can debate me if you want and you can have a different definition, but for me, this makes the most sense.  I’ve got to make a plan to get out of my patterns and habits that lead me back into the arms of my idols.  I’ve got to stop separating myself from the God I choose to believe in.  It’s not going to be easy but I’m looking forward to the journey.  How about you?

Until another confession…

Leave a Reply

