The Kind of Pride That Steals

WOW! We made it through a long emotional weekend and came out wiser and stronger.  I would not have thought that was possible.  I took a long hard look at myself in the proverbial mirror this weekend and what I saw wasn’t pretty but I’m glad I saw it.  So….Confession for the day…I don’t like being wrong.  I actually HATE being wrong.  I HATE making mistakes and I HATE apologizing.  It’s not a good thing to hate.  It’s actually quite arrogant of me to think that I could live a life without mistakes, apologies, and errors.  What a punk I can be at times!

As I sat at the memorial for a dear friend of mine, I realized that I have let my pride and arrogance stand in the way to too many relationships.  I’ve forgotten the importance of friendships and relationships that challenge me and help me to mature.  I’ve forgotten the laughter that comes with such friendships.  I’ve forgotten the silly moments that happen with such friendships.  I’ve forgotten the shoulders that are present when heartache strikes with such friendships.  Actually, I don’t know that I had so much forgotten as I had discounted their value in a life.  The value of such friendships are worth more than any purchase I have made in the past 10 years.  How could I have forgotten that?  As I asked myself this question I was reminded of a poem I read in a bible study I participated in a few years back.  This poem hit me then and it hit me again this weekend.  It reminded me of what my pride can steal from my life if I allow it to be more important than those people in my life.

My Name Is Pride
My name is Pride. I am a cheater.
I cheat you of your God-given destiny…
because you demand your own way.
I cheat you of contentment…
because you “deserve better than this.”
I cheat you of knowledge…
because you already know it all.
I cheat you of healing…
because you are too full of you to forgive.
I cheat you of holiness…
because you refuse to admit when you are wrong.
I cheat you of vision…
because you’d rather look in the mirror than out a window.
I cheat you of genuine friendship…
because nobody’s going to know the real you.
I cheat you of love…
because real romance demands sacrifice.
I cheat you of greatness in heaven…
because you refuse to wash another’s feet on earth.
I cheat you of God’s glory…
because I convinced you to seek your own.
My name is Pride. I am a cheater.
You like me because you think I’m always looking out for you.
Untrue.
I’m looking to make a fool of you.
God has so much for you, I admit, but don’t worry…
If you stick with me you’ll never know.
Leave a Reply

