Rejoice in the Lord Always

I read this yesterday in the Revolution study guide I’m going through as we read through Philippians.

Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice.      ~Philippains 4:4

I grew up attending a private school and we sang songs that were basically scriptures put to music. This one sticks in my head from time to time.  I don’t know that I fully grasped what that meant.  So, as I read it yesterday I asked God to give me the eyes to see and the ears to hear what it meant.  I’d like to share what I’ve been pondering.

Rejoice in the Lord always may seem that you’re always happy and subscribing to a Pollyanna type mentality, but I don’t think that’s what it means.  God knows that life is hard and that we get beat down sometimes with the details of our days.  Mortgages, bills, illness, broken relationships, troubled childhoods, and the list could go on and on. To rejoice means to be glad; to take delight.  This indicates to me that it is a choice rather than an occurrence.  You don’t just get rejoicing by accident, you rejoice on purpose.  “Why would I want to do that” you may be wondering.  You may thinking, “I have nothing to rejoice about”.   Yes you do.  As you rejoice and find joy in the circumstance, Paul promises us that “the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus”.  I don’t know about you, but my mind gets pretty wacky sometimes.  My thoughts of insecurity and doubt are enough to paralyze me if I let them.  You can’t tell me you don’t have the same problems.  If you do then I need to come to your house and learn from you instead of Paul.  Let’s not even start talking about the different ways my heart gets hurt on a daily basis.  No we won’t go there.

“Fine.” You may be saying, “How do I rejoice?”  This is what I’m thinking.  We have two ways to look at situations.

1. This situation sucks and I want out of it now. Can someone show me the exit please?”

OR

2. What can I learn from this situation?  What is God trying to develop in me? How can I come out of this situation more mature?

Start to look at the situation and find where you can grow and learn.  Start to get excited that you’re going to develop discipline in an area of your life that you’ve probably allowed to get out of control. Start to be happy that you’re not going to leave this situation the same way you entered.  Isn’t that enough to get you excited?! I’m getting excited just typing it.  So….

REJOICE IN THE LORD ALWAYS…not sometimes, or when you feel like it, or if you have time…ALWAYS…and just in case you forget and wonder what it was you were supposed to do…AND AGAIN I SAY REJOICE!


Leave a Reply

