Get Up and Fight!

This blog is usually cathartic. It’s a baring of my current status in an effort to process through my thoughts and emotions.  MY MY MY! What good is that? Many of you are suffering, hurting, questioning, living in the same harsh world I too live in.  Life will not get better for me if I continue to contemplate the significance of my belly button.  I gotta do something outside of myself.  (I stole that from Dr. Laura)  So here goes.   I hope this helps someone.

Are you facing some sort of difficulty in your life?  Yeah!  Me too!  I’ve heard it said many times and the Pastor Man repeats it frequently that Christians believe in a homeless guy who was murdered and expect to have a posh lifestyle.  What?!  Okay so I’m paraphrasing but you get the idea.  Jesus lived a hard life.  His whole existence was to serve and minister to the hurting and broken. And then they killed Him.  Life doesn’t get any harder than that.  So, how can I as a Christian sit and not imitate His example? How can I get angry when life gets hard and blame God?  As a Christian I can’t.  James says this:

Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. ~ James 1:3-4

So the difficulties and troubles we face are to produce steadfastness.  Our hardships are supposed to make us firm in purpose, resolution, and faith.  So why is it that we crumble at the sign of trouble?  When that steadfastness has its full effect we’ll be perfect and complete, lacking nothing!  I want that, don’t you?  I don’t know if we get to be perfect and complete right now, but being a little closer to perfect and complete would be nice.  When troubles come, and they will come, push into the pain of it.  Friends  of ours just had a baby and it is so exciting to see their joy.  But I know, from experience, that there was a moment in the birth that it hurt. The pushing process of childbirth stings and makes you want to quit, but the mother knows she’s going to get a baby if she keeps on pushing, so she pushes through that pain.  She’s still in pain, she’s hurting like mad, but she’s pushing so she can see the little stranger that has been kicking her for the past couple of months.  It would serve us well to do the same.  Push through the pain.  It’s hard, I know. You wanna quit, I get it.  We sang a song in church a while back and I will quote some lyrics from it now

Come on you gotta wait for the light

Press on and just fight the good fight

Cause the pain that you’ve been feeling

It’s just the hurt before the healing

Count it joy that we get to grow.  Count it joy that we get to mature.  Press into the pain don’t run from it.  There is a strength you’ll find that you need to know is there.  Don’t give up yet.  I need a running mate, hang in there.

Fight the good fight, run the good race.

Leave a Reply

