I Choose

The Pastor Man is taking the Revolutionaries through the book of Philippians.  It’s a four chapter book and really quite packed so far with truths I am finding to be helpful during this season of our lives.

Paul is in prison…our mortgage feels like a prison right now.

He’s unsure of what the future holds for him…we have no idea what the heck is going to happen in the next three months.

He’s pretty sure he’s going to survive his imprisonment…while we feel like this situation is killing us we know we’ll make it out alive.

He knows that he’s got support…we have a wonderful community cheering us on and praying for our family.

He understands that how he suffers through this ordeal will speak volumes about the God he serves…we are learning this truth.

While we do not like the situation we are in we are learning that we have a wonderful support of people.  God’s faithfulness is seen in each and every person we come into contact with.  Even those who do not claim to have faith in Him are examples of His graciousness when we are struggling to keep up with life and failing miserably.  I am blown away by the amount of support we have seen from those around us.  We are blessed.  And while we struggle and face the possibility of losing earthly possessions we have become aware of the assets we have that cannot be materialized.  Kindness, words of encouragement, friends who will listen and pray, people who will give us moments of humor as a distraction, family who jump in and offer to carry our burden for us even though they struggle themselves…how can I be sad?  How can I think I am losing anything of great value?  I do not choose to focus on what I do not have.  I cannot.  I am a blessed woman.  I choose to focus on that fact.

And as is my custom…those who have been reading my blog for any amount of time know that my great emotion usually breeds some form of creativity with words.  So here is my latest poem.  It is cliche, I’m sure, but it is what is in my heart and has made it’s way out into this blog.  Enjoy.

You’ve given me a beautiful life

Filled with love and little strife

A man who loves You and seeks Your face

A man who tender with a strong embrace

A son who’s creative and strong of heart

You’ll keep his life when we’re apart

A daughter who’s strong and free and daring

You’ll teach her grace with love unsparing

My life is beautiful because of You

Your love is present Your love is true

Life can be cruel, unfair, and broken

But I choose to believe the Words You’ve spoken

“I will not leave you. I will not forsake.”

Even though today, I’m sure I’ll break

You have given me a beautiful life

I choose not to fill it with worry or strife

It’s a choice I make.

One response to “I Choose

  1. Hey sweet woman,
    I love the way you put into words what’s in your heart. Thank you for sharing this part of your life. Cliche or not there is someone out there who will be blessed by what you have shared. For those who struggle with these words, I wonder if it’s not because they struggle to be that vulnerable. It’s scary to say the least. I think it’s a wonderful way to get to know you and realize that even though you seem tough on the outside you have a tender and loving heart inside. I love you and am blessed to have you in my life.

    Mom

Leave a Reply

