You May Not Have It Now, but You Will When It’s Over

It’s always interesting…this life of mine.  Recently my husband and I have decided to develop a mission statement of sorts for our family.  What is our focus as a family? How do we as individuals play out that focus?  How are we as a family contributing to the community around us?  Two weeks ago, as we sat in the beauty of God’s nature, enjoying Rose Canyon’s lake, listening to the wind move through the trees, we were able to articulate that mission.  It sounds so spiritual and wholesome, doesn’t it?  We were both so excited to have added some focus and clarity to our lives. We drove home ready to take on our lives.

It wasn’t until the next day when the thought hit us…WHAT HAVE WE DONE?!  The past two weeks have been the most challenging weeks of our lives.   We have been handed challenge after challenge with each new day, hour, minute, and second.  It has kept piling up until this last Monday when I felt as if I would quit and never begin again.  I was on the verge of tears all morning long.  I silently wept as I realized I do not have what it takes to do the next season of my life.  I am ill-equipped, unprepared, and unqualified to to the jobs in front of me.  The voices became louder than the truths I believe.  You’ll fail.  You cannot do it.  What made  you think you had what it takes? Who do you think you are? You will let down everyone you love and they will pull out on you. Now this last one really shook me from my pity party.  My faith encourages me to believe that God will never leave me or forsake me.  My Bible and my wonderful mother reminded me that suffering is temporary but the growth and change it brings about is eternal.  There it was! The truth I could hear above the voices.  I hold to that with all I am.  I may fail, I may let people down, but I will learn from those failures and I will grow and develop.  I don’t have what it takes to do the next season of my life, but I believe God has placed me here for a purpose and so I will tackle this season with this one thought: I may not have what I need to finish this season now, but I will when the season is over!  THAT I can do.

In the words of an author I respect

Now, go take on the day! ~Dr. Laura Schlessinger

The Revolution Memory Verse

And I am sure of this, that He who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.   ~Philippians 1:6

Leave a Reply

