This Is For You…

Wednesday, March 12, 2008

My boy was 7 and my girl was 6

Today is a typical day. I’m trying to get the kids to do their work and I’m failing. I negotiate, I coerce, I yell, I send them to their room and here I am feeling like a failure and a fool for thinking I could do this job of a homeschooling stay at home mom.  I began homeschooling because I knew that my kids needed me to intervene somehow.  Maybe I was wrong.  My son, I can fight with him and I know what to do to win, but the more we fight the more I get the feeling I am losing the real battle.  I know I’m not a bad mother, but I do admit that I am a mother baffled by what I am to do with these children God has blessed me with.

This was the low point of my parenting.  It’s gotten better since that day.  I just thought it was neat to see how desperate I was, how that desperation led me to Jesus and how He has been faithful to teach me how to be a good mother to my now 11 and 9 year old.  There is still more progress to make, but it’s neat to see that I’m not in the same place I was two years ago.  Be encouraged my sweet friend.  You will make it.  Half the battle is realizing you need help.

Leave a Reply

